Baxter Co. Sheriff’s Office reminds residents about fireworks regulations

The Baxter County Sheriff’s Office is reminding residents of fireworks laws and regulations.

According to a news release from the Baxter County Sheriff’s Office, Arkansas Code 20-22-711 states that fireworks may only be sold at retail establishments and used within the state of Arkansas from June 20 through July 10 and from December 10 through January 5 of each year.

The Act does not specify or regulate the hours during which fireworks may be launched day or night within these permissible periods. It is an offense to light or release fireworks outside these dates. The code provides for a fine of up to $200 for violating this provision.

City councils may also impose further restrictions on these time frames or may completely ban the sale or ignition of fireworks within city limits. Anyone wishing to set off fireworks within the city limits of any municipality is advised to contact the municipal police or city hall in those municipalities to find out what the municipal regulations are. This includes the towns of Mountain Home, Gassville, Cotter, Lakeview, Norfork, Salesville, Briarcliff and Big Flat.

People shooting fireworks are asked to respect neighbors and the surroundings, and be aware of the potential fire hazard. It is strongly recommended that children using fireworks do so under close adult supervision.

Ready for the webTM Powered by The wire is ready® NSI